The Mission

The Palmetto State Literacy Association provides a forum for stakeholders who are committed to the teaching and improvement of literacy in South Carolina. The primary commitment is to promote literacy through the improvement of reading, writing, and communication instruction and to encourage literacy as a lifetime tool for learning.

Teacher reading to students

2024 - 2025 – Board of Directors and Committee Chairs

Krystal Turner
Michelle Richardson
Vice President
Virginia Scates
Ashley Pack
Membership Director
Melissa Nicholson
State Coordinator
Missy Lark
Eddie Marshall
Conference Coordinator
Jean Brewington
Kaye Jamison

Representatives and Committee Chairs

Regional Representatives

Upstate of SC
Ashley Black Ashley Black
Midlands of SC
Rebecca Burriss Rebecca Burriss
Lower Regions of SC
Peggy O'Banner Peggy O'Banner
At Large
Tonja Johnson Tonja Johnson

Committee Chairs

Gina Mays Gina Mays
Public Relations
Ashley Pack Ashley Pack
Conference Program
Michelle Richardson Michelle Richardson
Distinguished Literacy Administrator
Pat Smith Pat Smith
Distinguished Teacher of Literacy
Judy Arnold Judy Arnold
Exemplary Reading Award
Iesha Jefferson Iesha Jefferson
Family Literacy Grant
Kim Shelton Kim Shelton
Vickie Brockman Vickie Brockman
Honor Council
Missy Lark Missy Lark
International Project
Virginia Scates Virginia Scates
Journal Publication 1
Kirsten Able Kirsten Able
Journal Publication 2
Koti Hubbard Koti Hubbard
Scott Johnson Scott Johnson
Literacy Leaders of Higher Education
Cathy Compton- Lilly Cathy Compton- Lilly
Literacy Partner Award
Gina Rhodes Gina Rhodes
Literature Grants
Becca Burris Becca Burris
Jennifer Dunn Jennifer Dunn
Dr. Mary Howard Dr. Mary Howard
Teachers as Readers
Kimberly Hutcherson Kimberly Hutcherson
Service Grant
Jennifer Powell Jennifer Powell
Long Range Planning
Callie Herlong Callie Herlong
Eddie Marshall Eddie Marshall
Website & Event Management
Kaye Jamison Kaye Jamison
Have Questions?

Contact us for more information on the PSLA or
any of our membership opportunities.

Contact Us