Mission Statement

The Palmetto State Literacy Association provides a forum for stakeholders who are committed to the teaching and improvement of literacy in South Carolina. The primary commitment is to promote literacy through the improvement of reading, writing, and communication instruction and to encourage literacy as a lifetime tool for learning.

State Officers & Committees

President

Missy Lark

Email

President-Elect

Cathy Jones-Stork

Email

Vice President

Kaye Jamison

Email

Secretary

Karley Watkins

Email

Membership Director

Jean B. Brewington

Email

Treasurer

Eddie Marshall

Email

Past-President

Susan Fernandez

Email

2020-2021 Representatives & Committee Chairs

Palmetto State Literacy Association

Regional Representatives

Upstate of SC: Kim Camp
kimfcamp@gmail.com

 

Midlands of SC: Tara Thompson
tlsthomps23@gmail.com

 

Lower Regions of SC: Carla James
carlajames84@yahoo.com

 

At Large: Becca Doswell
bdoswell.edu@gmail.com

Committee Chairs

Bylaws
Pat Smith
ptrcwsmith@aol.com

 

Communications

Brittany Daniels

readingcoachy@gmail.com

 

Conference Program

Cathy Jones-Stork

PSLAConference@gmail.com

 

Council Service Grants 

Jenny Powell

jennifer.powell@spart1.org

 

Distinguished Literacy Administrator 
Suzanne Hughes
suzanne.hughes@spart5.net
 

Distinguished Literacy Teacher Award 

Jessica Beam

jbeam@newberry.k12.sc.us

 

Exemplary Reading Award

Melanie Guill
4ladybugs@att.net

 

Family Literacy Award
Carla James
carlajames84@yahoo.com

 

Historian/Archives
Mary Freeman
mfreeman@rhmail.org

 

Honor Council
Pat Smith
ptrcwsmith@aol.com

 

International Project
Kaye Jamison
jamisonkb74@gmail.com

Journal Publication

Koti Hubbard

kotih@clemson.edu

 

Lisa Aker

ldaker@clemson.edu

 

Literacy Leaders of Higher Education

Dr. Catherine Compton-Lilly

compotonlilly@sc.edu

 

Literacy Partner Award 
Adrienne Urwick
adrienneurwick@lcsd56.com

 

Literacy Workshop

Susan Fernandez

scira.drsusafern@gmail.com

 

Literature Grants
Laquandra Stevenson

Mspassion4u@gmail.com

 

Membership
Jean Brewington
jbrewington@spartanburg3.org

 

Nominations

Nina Ledford

aaledford@yahoo.com

 

Scholarships

Tamara Pack

tpack@lander.edu

 

Teachers as Readers
Kimberly Hutcherson

khutcherson@richland2.org